Blueberries

Yes, you read it right. This blog post will be all about blueberries! Why? Because I looove them 🙂

I am always looking for something to eat… I don’t care if it is something sweet, sour, savory, healthy or not, I always want to eat. Do any of you have the same problem?
Lately I have been trying to eat more healthy. So that means that I don’t want to snack to much during the day. And when I want something to snack, I make a smoothie or get some fruit. This is when I discovered blueberries. I think I’ve had them before, but now I am a blueberry addict. I eat them just like a little snack (like I am now writing this), or I put them in anything imaginable. I love to make pancakes, so I thought: Why not put blueberries on them? I make a lot of smoothies, so again: Why not put blueberries in them? Even when I go out for icecream, I take something which has blueberries in them.

IMG_20140622_084726 IMG_20140625_225344 IMG_20140719_140426 IMG_20140721_130906

The best thing about them is that they are not only super yummy, they are also really healthy for you. They are:

  • Low in fat
  • Full of dietary fiber. Fiber helps keep the body regular, the heart healthy, and cholesterol in check
  • Packed with vitamin C, which helps maintain healthy gums and capillaries and a healthy immune system
  • An excellent source of manganese. Manganese plays an important role in bone development and in converting proteins, carbohydrates, and fats into energy.

So that is a nice list of facts, but I have one more. The health areas where blueberries may play a role:

  • Cardiovascular health (your heart ♥)
  • Brain health
  • Insuline response
  • Cancer risk reduction

All that is fun to know, but blueberry recipes are way more fun. I came across this site that has 56 blueberry recipes. Yes, 56 dishes that has blueberries in it: 56 Healthy Blueberry Recipes. It has recipes for breakfast, snacks and appetizers, lunch and dinner, desserts and even for drinks, smoothies and coctails. I’ll tell you, I will definitely try some of them out because they look delicious.

XO

Leave a Reply

