Stressed out? Relax and Let go

Life can just be really overwhelming sometimes and we all have days where we just feel like we are about to lose it. I think that’s totally fine and it’s ok because we’re all human. Whether it’s work related, school related or personally related, it happens, and it happens to all of us. And I think while it’s important to work through these hurdles in our lives, I think it’s also important to just recognise that sometimes you need a mental breather and it’s ok to step away from these situations and find some mental clarity. Whatever you do, it doesn’t have to be something big. I think that it’s really about focussing on the little things sometimes and taking baby steps to work towards your bigger picture.

Something that has been really helpful for me is just disconnecting. In todays world it’s so easy to feel like you need to keep up with everything whether it’s textmessages, emails, Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, Snapchat. Like all of this stuff that is happening and we’re just being inundated with information all the time andit’s good to kind of separate from that.
So what I like to do lately is put my phone on airplane mode and i’ve reached the point where in pretty much every day I have at least an hour or two where I’m just completely disconnected and that’s usually in the morning and later at night. This is just so I can really just have time for myself and not have to worry about other things that are happening. What I do is make myself a cup of tea while I read a book or write. It is like a little escape from what ever you’re dealing with right now, and you come out of it with a fresher mind.

It wasn’t always that I could do this. You kind of have to build it up. Start with having smaller chunks of time for yourself like 10 till 20 minutes. When it get’s easier you’ll realise that you can take bigger chunks of time for yourself.

All in all, I think it really just comes down to this. If you feel pressure to have it all figured out by now, don’t! No matter what your age is, no matter what you’re doing, we’re all trying to figure life out. And we’re going to have better days, and we’re going to have sucky days. We’re human beings at the end of the day and that’s something that unites us all and should give us all a little bit of comfort, because we’re all in this together!

If you feel the same way sometimes, go find something that helps you relax, and sometimes that it letting go of things.

Leave a Reply

