What stress does to me

Since I’m a student I obviously have to deal with more stress. The workload is higher, I always have a lot of exams in a short period of time, a lot of reports to write both individual work and group work, and so much more. In high school I also experienced stress, which is actually normal really, but it has never been as it has been the last few years.

I used to just have stress in my head. Thinking about what I still have to do and worrying about how much work is still to come.  But that was it. I could worry and still do all my work. Now it is so much different. I’ve been experiencing more anxiety and I’ve had it pretty bad. Stress is not only a thing in my head anymore; I feel it physically. My heart beats faster which gives me the feeling of dizzynous  and chest pains. My breathing gets harder. I can wake up in the middle of the night thinking that I cannot breathe. It is harder to fall asleep, which is why I feel tired a lot of times. I get headaches and neck/back pains. When there’s a stressful period coming up I’m just a mess.

I know that there are a lot of people who has the same issue. I don’t just mean having 94de1f19318497978f644281b25a1b25stress, but feeling anxious because of it. I am not sure if I have some kind of anxiety, but I do think it is strange that stress affects me so much every time and other people feel fine. I guess I should talk to someone professional about it, because it is really bothering me and affecting my work. I find it harder to start on my work, I feel that my concentration is not how it should be, I get confused about what I have to do… It is a lot.

The reason why I’m writing this is just to share it. I feel like there are many people who do not understand how stress affects everyone differently. I have to deal with people all the time who think I am just complaining to complain, but that is because they don’t experience it like I do. This makes me so upset when people are so narrow-minded, and what they don’t understand is that their comments or behavior towards me also affects how I feel. I think that is maybe also one of the reasons why I am completely fine being by myself and not having to be with other people.

XO

Leave a Reply

