Let’s lunch! – Maastricht

Most of you know I study and live in Maastricht. Maastricht is the capital city of the province Limburg in the Netherlands. It is close to the border of Germany and Belgium. If you’ve been there you know what I’m talking about when I say it is really different from the rest of the Netherlands. Sometimes I feel like I’m in a different country within my own country.

One of my favorite things to do with my friends in Maastricht is go on little missions to find nice places where we can have good coffees and where we can indulge in delicious food. I wanted to share two places where I like to go with my friends and which I always recommend to other people.

Let’s start with one I went to today: Patty ‘n Bun. The name is explanatory by itself. Yes, it’s a burger place. It just opened a few weeks ago, and somehow I found it on Instagram. I love looking at food photos, because food is life, and I saw these photos of what looked like the most delicious milkshakes. It also looked like diabetes and instant heart attacks, but sometimes you just have to treat yourself. So what I did is I looked up where they had their restaurant, asked my friend if she’d heard about it (which she hadn’t) and asked her to go sometime.

They have all these different types of burgers, of which you can also add ingredients. They have different types of fries: normal fries, garlic fries, chili fries, and sweet potato fries (my favorite). They have specials you can choose from, milkshakes, and so many other things.

Their address is: Sint Pieterstraat 50, 6211 JP Maastricht
Click here to go to their website


The second place I’ve known for a while now. It’s called: Piece of Cake. You would think that you can only eat cakes, cupcakes and muffins, right? Well, there are so many more thinks you can it. I’ve had breakfasts and lunches over there, and I can really recommend it. I have to say, I always order a cheesecake on the side, just because you have to. Also, I am a huge coffee fan and I can tell you that they have some good flat whites. It has become my go to when I’m there.

When you walk in you would never expect is to be so big. That is what I love about Maastricht. Everything looks so tiny from the outside, but almost all the buildings have high ceilings and go very far to the back. Which is also the case for Piece of Cake. It is a very cozy place and there are always people, which is a sign for good food.

Their address is: Bredestraat 28, 6211HC Maastricht
Click here to go to their website


If you ever find yourself in Maastricht you should defintely go to these places. Another place where they have really good coffee is AlleyCat (Hoenderstraat 15-17, 6211 EL Maastricht).
Also, let me know if you liked this post by clicking on the little like button! 🙂

XO

Leave a Reply

