The words you attach to your experience become your experience

Tony Robbins posted a tweet with a video recently, saying: How to influence people with your language. The video was for Inc Magazine. I was so inspired by what he was saying in this video and I totally agree with him. If you haven’t seen it, click HERE to see what I’m talking about.

The reason why this video was so interesting to me is that I try to be a positive person as much as I can be. I always try to make the best of the situation I am in, especially when that is a negative one. But I truly believe words can make a difference. When I keep telling myself I am sick for example, I will feel sick. Or when I tell myself I am sad, I will stay sad. You need to make yourself believe you are not sick, or sad, or depressed, so you can work on getting over it.

“The words you attach to your experience become your experience”. A quote I have never really thought about before, but now I have. I have been paying more attention to the words I say. I came to discover that I often use colorful language. But on days when I am not feeling a 100% happy or positive, I also feel like I use less colorful language. I too often say that I’m not feeling well which only makes me think more negative thoughts. Once I’ve put it in my head that I am not feeling well or I am tired, I cannot get rid of it.

I am happy I only have this problem on certain days and I already try to avoid negativity. I find it for example very hard to be talking to someone who has nothing positive to say. It makes me think they are not trying anything to do about their situation and they are only complaining about it or feeling sad for themselves. Words don’t only affect yourself; it can also affect the people around you. I don’t ever want to be a person who makes other people feel bad or unhappy, so I wouldn’t just use positive language for myself. I would also do it for everyone around me.

Language is definitely something we don’t think about enough. If you think of the words you use daily, do you use a positive language or a negative one?

XO

 

Leave a Reply

