I am a procrastinator

I’ve really been into watching Ted talks lately. Maybe something I shouldn’t be spending all my time on because I have many other things to do. I convince myself it is not that bad because these talks are educational and I’ll learn from them. But I secretly know that I am procrastinating when I’m watching them. And when that thought came to my mind I saw there was a Ted talk about procrastination. How appropriate, right? So of course, being the procrastinator as I am, I clicked on it and watched it. This guy Tim Urban explained what goes on in the head of a procrastinator. Everything he said was so recognizable. I knew exactly what he was talking about and what he meant by the things he explained.

I am still a student. I have many deadlines and somehow I always allow myself to get to the point that I have to do everything at the last minute. This is nothing new for me, I’ve always done this. Many times I wanted to change this. I say to myself: “Okay, I need to plan my work better and start earlier.” This I try but somehow I always fail. It is like I need the pressure of knowing I need to do it now or it will be too late. I can be more productive and I can think clearer, because there is no time for distractions.

What Tim Urban says about deadlines is recognizable. I leave everything to the last minute. A few days before the deadline my panic monster starts acting up and I am suddenly able to do anything. But then he also talked about that there are no actual deadlines in life. That made me panic a little bit. I need that pressure to get things done. How will I get anything done when no one gives me a deadline? That is when planning comes in handy and is very important. You need to make deadlines for yourself and you can only do that if you have a plan. That was a problem for me….I’ve never had a plan. That’s because I don’t look further than my deadlines. I have to learn how to not be a procrastinator.

I know I already wrote a post about my New Year’s resolutions, but I now think I could’ve added “better planning, less procrastinating” to the list. That is certainly something I could work one, and I will put effort into doing that.

4d10247c2b89098e6f7103065276923e9432e914_2880x1620

If you haven’t seen the Ted talk by Tim Urban about procrastinating I recommend you do so. Click HERE for the link. Let me know what you think, and if you recognize yourself in this talk as well.

XO

One Comment Add yours

  1. FelixJuel says:

    There are certainly worse things to be doing when procrastinating!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

