Your life is your life

I hope you aren’t held back because of a number. And that you don’t rush into things because it feels like time is slipping by. I hope you do what’s right for you. Hold on. Slow down. And breathe in. your age is your age. But more importantly, your life is your life. Don’t change your journey so that it matches someone else’s. We need to walk different paths so the whole world can be explored. Revel in the differences. And enjoy where you are, in the moment.

I read this quote today on Pinterest and it was so inspiring to me. It is something I have been dealing with the last couple of weeks: I have to do things my own way! In my case it is related to my studies. I know I’ve never been the best student. I don’t pass my exams with high grades, I usually just make it. I am the student who always has to retake their exams. I am the student who is always behind. It just takes me a lot of time. It is not that I don’t understand the material I have to study. For some reason, I am bad in studying for tests and actually making these tests.

Right now I am in my last year of my studies. Or, well…at least if everything goes right. I still have some exams to pass before I can go on my internship. If I don’t pass those, I am not allowed to go, which means I cannot graduate with the rest of my year. Hearing this in the beginning wasn’t fun at all. But then after a while I was okay with it. I decided to do everything in my own way and on my own pace. This also meant I had to prioritize my work. I’m doing my 4th year minor, which isn’t hard at all but it is so much work. I’ve tried to do all the work I have for that AND study for the exams that I absolutely need to pass. I put way too much pressure on myself doing both things, and it gave me a lot of anxiety. I’ve had a period last year when my anxiety because of school stress was really bad. I hadn’t had any problems with since then, until lately.

I’ve made the decision to not do what everyone else is doing, but to only look at what I’m capable of doing. This unfortunately could mean I am not going to graduate with all my other friends, but it does mean I can do everything more purposefully and with a cleared mind. To me that counts for much more. Remember that your life is YOUR life, and nobody else’s. It is important that you do what is good for you, and not what’s good for someone else.

XO
chantal

3 Comments Add yours

  1. eliza rudolf says:

    Loved it…👍👍👍👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

